Appendix 8

Countries Exercising Consular Jurisdiction in the Macao SAR

By the end of December 2012, consular services had been established in the Macao SAR by 89 countries, including several that extended the services of their consulates-general in Hong Kong to Macao, as well as those that may execute consular duties in the Macao SAR. Details of countries are as follows (in alphabetical order):

1. Three countries have set up consulates-general in the Macao SAR:

Angola, the Philippines and Portugal

2. Fifty-three consulates-general accredited to Hong Kong have also covered the Macao SAR, including several that may execute consular duties in the Macao SAR. In alphabetical order, they are:

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Brazil, Brunei, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, Columbia, the Czech Republic, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, India, Indonesia, Iran, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, South Korea, Kuwait, Laos, Malaysia, Mexico, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Pakistan, Peru, Poland, Romania, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, the United States of America, Venezuela, Vietnam and Zimbabwe.

- * China and Antigua and Barbuda have reached an agreement on the establishment of an Antigua and Barbuda Consulate-General in Hong Kong (which has not yet opened); the Consulates-General of Samoa, the Bahamas and Denmark are currently closed; however the relevant agreements on the establishments and expansion of consulates are still valid.
- 3. Ten countries have appointed honorary consuls to the Macao SAR. In alphabetical order, they are:

Cape Verde, Estonia, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Mali, Mozambique, Niger, Peru and United Kingdom.

* The positions of honorary consuls of Bhutan, France and Surinam are currently vacant.

4. Twenty countries with honorary consuls in Hong Kong cover or extend services to the Macao SAR. In alphabetical order, they are:

Cyprus, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Hungary, Iceland, Kenya, Lithuania, Maldives, Morocco, Namibia, Norway, Rwanda, San Marino, Seychelles, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Tanzania and Uruguay.

